Paralympic Sports: Boccia

Boccia is one of two sports exclusive to the Paralympics, the other being goalball. Initially played by athletes with cerebral palsy, today, individuals with various physical disabilities affecting their motor skills can play the sport. With no Olympic counterpart, you might be wondering, "What is boccia?" and "How is boccia played?" In this article, we’ll look into the history of boccia, how the game is played, and the adaptations made for athletes with disabilities

History of Boccia

The origins of boccia can be traced back to ancient Egypt around 5200 BC, where tomb engravings depict a sport resembling boccia. This early version of the game was later adopted by the ancient Greeks, where players would throw stones at a target, or "jack." The objective was simple: throw a stone as close as possible to the target. The player whose stone landed closest would score a point.

How Boccia is Played?

Though Pralympic athletes no longer throw stones in the game, the objective of boccia remains the same. Players throw, kick, or roll a ball as close to a target as possible. The player with the ball nearest to the target earns a point.

Each boccia game may vary, with several characteristics determining gameplay:

  • Ends: Unlike quarters, boccia games are divided into ends. Individual boccia typically consists of four to six ends, while team boccia often has six to eight ends. Additional ends may be added in the event of a tie.
  • Scoring: Rather than playing to a predetermined score, the individual or team with the most balls closest to the target at the conclusion of all ends is considered the winner.
  • Adaptive Equipment: While players may throw or roll the ball in boccia, those with limited hand or arm function may utilize adaptive equipment to participate.

Boccia Equipment and Rules

Rules in boccia are implemented to ensure equitable play among all athletes. Some fundamental rules of the game include:

  • Time Limits: Athletes are allotted a specific timeframe for their shots. Exceeding this time limit results in a warning, with penalties such as point deductions or disqualification.
  • Positioning: Athletes must remain seated throughout the game. In the event of unintentional wheelchair movement during a shot, athletes may reposition themselves, but intentional movement can lead to penalties.
  • Boccia Balls: Players may not move any ball on the court, including their own, once it has been played. One is returning an out-of-bounds ball to a referee.

Equipment utilized in boccia includes:

  • Boccia Balls: Made of leather, boccia balls have weight to them to minimize bouncing. Each player receives a set of balls for a game, typically blue and red, with one color assigned to each individual or team. Opponents roll balls toward a target, or "jack"—the only white ball in play.
  • Ramps: Some athletes, depending on their disability, may use ramps if unable to throw the ball. Ramps allow athletes to release the ball from a height for rolling.
  • Head Pointers and Hand Pointers: Athletes using ramps may also use a head or hand pointer to propel the ball down the ramp, allowing for precise aim.
  • Measuring Devices: Boccia referees often utilize calipers or measuring tape to determine the proximity of balls to the target, determining which individual or team to award points to.
  • Assistive Devices: Boccia players may utilize additional assistive devices such as non-slip mats and gloves to enhance grip and control.

Boccia Events and Classification

Each boccia game may look slightly different depending on:

  • Location: Boccia is the indoor version of the game featured in the Paralympics, whereas bocce refers to the outdoor game not included in the Paralympics.
  • Number of Players: Boccia accommodates individual play, pairs, or teams of three.
  • Recreational vs. Professional Boccia: Professional boccia is exclusively for athletes with disabilities, whereas recreational boccia, a more relaxed version, may feature slightly altered rules and is open to individuals with and without disabilities.

Paralympic Boccia Classification System

In boccia, athletes compete within categories that align with their disabilities, constituting a classification system employed in numerous Paralympic sports to ensure equitable competition. Boccia classification, or BC, encompasses four categories—BC1 through BC4—each representing varying levels of physical impairment:

  • BC1: Athletes with cerebral palsy (CP) or similar disabilities affecting the entire body. These athletes encounter challenges with coordination and may utilize a ramp for assistance during gameplay.
  • BC2: Athletes with mild forms of CP or similar disabilities, who do not require a ramp during play.
  • BC3: Athletes with substantial physical impairments affecting their arms and legs, typically resulting in limited or no ability to throw or kick a ball. These athletes may employ a ramp, with an assistant potentially aiding in positioning.
  • BC4: Athletes with disabilities other than cerebral palsy, such as muscular dystrophy or spinal cord injuries, who do not need assistance or a ramp.

Benefits of Boccia and How You Can Get Started 

For individuals with disabilities, boccia, alongside other adaptive sports, can significantly enhance both mental and physical well-being. If you're interested in playing boccia, you can visit the USA Boccia website to find local and national opportunities. For information on other Paralympic and adaptive sports, check out our related articles below.

Related Articles