National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association Quality Assurance Program Certified

BraunAbility Remains the Most Certified Mobility Equipment & Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle Manufacturer

The National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association (NMEDA) Quality Assurance Program (QAP) and Manufacturer Quality Assurance Program (MQAP) was designed to rank and accredit adaptive equipment and their manufacturers. Like a J.D. Power award for performance or the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), QAP is the measure that ensures the accessible vehicle product is safe and reliable. In fact, QAP is the only nationally recognized accreditation for the adaptive mobility equipment industry. 

BraunAbility is a proud recipient of QAP. Each one of our conversions has been tested and passed QAP qualifications as has the B&D 6-Way Transfer Seat.

  • Crash tested and approved
  • All BraunAbility conversions maintain the original integrity of the vehicle

A common misconception is that all accessible vehicles are built to the same safety standards, but that’s not the case. Look for an MQAP certification from NMEDA, a third-party mobility industry trade association. The main difference between BraunAbility and direct sellers is that 100% of BraunAbility wheelchair-accessible vehicles have passed MQAP certification. Direct sellers are not NMEDA members. 

QAP logo

Why Is This Important? 

Most online direct sellers are not crash-tested or approved. Why does that matter? Ask yourself these questions:

  1. Can I be confident the original integrity of the vehicle has not been compromised?
  2. Is the original equipment manufacturer's warranty protected after conversion?
  3. Will my insurance company cover a replacement or repairs if an accident occurs?

When working with BraunAbility and a NMEDA certified dealer, the answer is always yes. 

National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association Compliance Review Program (CRP)

In North America, there are two government agencies that regulate consumer and public safety on the road, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and Transport Canada (TC). These administrations issue safety regulations that all vehicle manufacturers are required to follow, including mobility manufacturers like BraunAbility. To protect consumers’ purchases, NMEDA developed the CRP to show which manufacturers were in compliance with these safety regulations. The CRP analyzes everything from an occupant’s safety in the event of a collision, to ramp weight capacity, to wheelchair tie down or occupant restraints.

A “Pass” on the CRP’s chart indicates an independent engineer conducted a comprehensive safety testing process and satisfactorily met the safety requirements.

BraunAbility Designs For Your Safety First

Your safety is not a bi-product at BraunAbility. We engineer and test our products to the highest degree, and our NMEDA QAP and MQAP certifications reflect that. Click here to learn more about the QAP requirements.

National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association