BraunAbility Certifications

QAP and MQAP Certified Dealer and Manufacturer

Uncompromising Commitment to Safety

The National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association (NMEDA) awards conversion companies with exceptional quality, performance and reliability metrics with the Quality Assurance Program accreditation. Through this program, BraunAbility maintains certified vehicle technicians, up-to-date tooling, passes an annual audit, and adherence to a series of rules and guidelines to protect our customers' safety.

In addition to the QAP Certification, BraunAbility also maintains the MQAP Certification. This standard ensures products manufactured and distributed by NMEDA Manufacturer members either meet or exceed current government safety requirements. All NMEDA Manufacturers who participate and hold the MQAP accreditation are held to extremely high standards of consumer safety and product quality. This includes: 

  • Submitting applicable federal safety standard compliance data to NMEDA
  • Show compliance with the California Air Resources Board (CARB)
  • Maintain liability insurance to protect the consumer and manufacturer 
  • Provide 24-hour service for all products sold
  • Provide detailed operation instructions
  • Develop and maintain a documented certification training program for mobility dealers

Accreditation is renewed annually and can apply to both Type 1 Vehicle Manufacturers and Type 2 Component or Equipment Manufacturers, including seating systems, lifts, and securement systems. 

Ford Motor Company – Qualified Vehicle Modifier

The Qualified Vehicle Modifier attribution is a badge of honor stating Ford evaluated and accepted the BraunAbility design after considering our engineering, manufacturing process, quality control, and adherence to the program guidelines. This includes compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, conformance to Ford guidelines for vehicle conversions, an annual facility inspection, and a commitment to continuous improvement.

Toyota Motor Corporation - Gold Rating

The Toyota Motor Corporation awards Gold Ratings to companies who pass the Toyota Quality Audit. It states BraunAbility has a commitment to product development and quality, process control, and continuous improvement. Toyota is internationally known for its focus on exceptional quality standards and regularly conducts audits to ensure partners like BraunAbility are meeting or exceeding these expectations.

Fiat Chrysler Automotive (FCA) - Q-Pro Engineering Program 

FCA developed the Q-Pro Engineering Program to comprehensively examine partner operations and is a highly-selective accreditation. As a Q-Pro certification holder, BraunAbility exceeded FCA’s expectations in the areas of quality, reliability, dependability, regulatory compliance, standardized process controls, warranty and continuous improvement.

ISO Certifications for Safety and Quality


ISO 14001:2015

An international standard that requires an environmental management system to help organizations improve environmental performance over time.

ISO 9001:2015

Certification requires the certification holder to demonstrate their ability to consistently manufacture and sell products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements. This certification also protects the company’s customers by including processes for improvement over time.

IATF 16949:2016

One of the most widely used international standards for quality management in the automotive industry and defines the requirements of a quality management system for organizations.